Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon

Board of County Commissioners

Phone: 913-715-0430

111 S Cherry, Suite 3300, Olathe, KS 66061


Appointed Boards & Commissions

Appointed boards and commissions are an established feature of county government, offering citizens an opportunity to participate in the affairs of their community, to shape and influence public policy in many areas, and to contribute their time and talents to preserve the high quality of life enjoyed by residents. Serving on a board or commission can be a very rewarding experience.

Johnson County has a long tradition of utilizing the expertise and talents of its residents. As volunteers, the men and women who serve as members of the appointed boards and commissions help to support, guide, and help oversee the county's agencies and departments. Johnson County has more than 30 boards, commissions, and task forces that endeavor to reflect the varied interests of the community.

Several of these boards and commissions are required and established under state law, while others are created under the authority of the Board of County Commissioners. Under the provisions of the Home Rule Charter, all appointed boards and commissions operate under the policies and procedures adopted by the Board of County Commissioners. All members appointed to a board or commission are expected to comply with the Johnson County government's Code of Ethics (Resolution No. 162-88).